1 Early Effervescence - Early Pink Floyd Classics Remastered

Early Effervescence

Early Pink Floyd Classics Remastered
by Mark Davenport

I received this 9-disc compilation circa 2000 - 2001. I can't seem to remember the date. It was put together by a guy located in Georgia named Mark Davenport (aka MAD). He spent approximately five years compiling and mixing these songs - quite a wonderful thing to do really.
I used to have a link to Mark's website and would provide it here, however, he's changed it and I can't seem to find his new one; maybe he doesn't have a website anymore. Either way, let's hope he's doing well and thank him from the bottom of our hearts for putting together such an awesome compilation.
The discs I have came directly from Mark D. I ripped them using EAC and then compressed the wave files to shorten format (.shn) using mkwACT. Check out the MD5 check sums for your reference. Obviously, if you have a version of this compilation that does not match these signatures, then you don't have my version (ripp.)

    -- Gabriel (aka Flupe)
         Boulder, CO
         May 28, 2003
         www.flupe.com - A Man of Leisure Website Among Other Fine Things

Disc 1 - Studio Outtakes [ md5 ]

  1. Lucy Leave (declicked, stereo enhanced)
  2. King Bee (could not improve)
  3. Sunshine (stereo enhanced)
  4. Interstellar Overdrive (syd home demo -- dehissed, declicked, stereo enhanced)
  5. Arnold Layne (stereo enhanced)
  6. Let's Roll Another One (early '66 studio demo -- declicked, dehissed, enhanced)
  7. Let's Roll Another One (studio -- speed corrected, dehissed)
  8. Candy and a Currant Bun (stereo enhanced)
  9. See Emily Play (stereo enhanced)
  10. Apples and Oranges (stereo enhanced, legit stereo version)
  11. Vegtable Man (declicked, dehissed, stereo enhanced)
  12. Scream Thy Last Scream (stereo enhanced)
  13. Nick's Boogie (stereo enhanced)
  14. It Would Be So Nice (stereo enhanced)
  15. Paintbox (stereo enhanced)
  16. Biding My Time (stereo enhanced)
  17. Julia Dream (stereo enhanced)
  18. Point Me at the Sky (stereo enhanced)
  19. Embryo (stereo enhanced)

Total Time for Disc One - 72:56

Disc 2 - BBC Sessions and TV Broadcasts [ md5 ]

These '67 BBC Sessions are taken from a 1st generation source radio broadcast. According to Mark, they are the "best versions [one can find] anywhere."

  1. Flaming (dehissed, stereo enhanced)
  2. Scarecrow (dehissed, stereo enhanced)
  3. The Gnome (dehissed, stereo enhanced)
  4. Matilda Mother (dehissed, stereo enhanced)
  5. Vegetable Man (dehissed, stereo enhanced)
  6. Scream Thy Last Scream (dehissed, stereo enhanced)
  7. Pow R Toc H (dehissed, stereo enhanced)
  8. Jugband Blues (dehissed, stereo enhanced)
  9. Julia Dream (stereo enhanced)
  10. Let There Be More Light (stereo enhanced)
  11. Muderisitic Woman (stereo enhanced)
  12. A Saucerful of Secrets (stereo enhanced)
  13. Point Me at the Sky (stereo enhanced)
  14. Baby Blue Shuffle (stereo enhanced)
  15. The Embryo (stereo enhanced)
  16. Interstellar Overdrive (remixed channels, stereo enhanced)
  17. Moonhead (declicked, dehissed, stereo enhanced)
  18. Christmas Song (dehissed)
Total Time for Disc Two - 67:50

Disc 3 - Alternate Takes from Movie Soundtracks [ md5 ]

  1. The Committee (stereo enhanced)
  2. Country Song
  3. The Violent Sequence (studio piano section, stereo enhanced)
  4. Crumbling Land (Take 1, stereo enhanced)
  5. Crumbling Land (Take 2, stereo enhanced)
  6. Red Queen Theme (Take 1, stereo enhanced)
  7. Red Queen Theme (Take 2, dehissed)
  8. Red Queen Theme (Take 3, dehissed, stereo enhanced)
  9. Red Queen Theme (Take 4, dehissed, stereo enhanced)
  10. Rick's Whine (dehissed)
  11. Oneone (Take 1, dehissed, stereo enhanced)
  12. Oneone (Take 2, remixed, stereo enhanced)
  13. Oneone (Take 3, stereo enhanced)
  14. Oneone (Take 4, stereo enhanced)
  15. Oneone/Fingals Cave (declicked, stereo enhanced)
Total Time for Disc Three - 76:05

Disc 4 - Syd Outtakes [ md5 ]

All tracks are stereo enhanced and presented in chronological order.

  1. Late Night Instrumental
  2. Golden Hair
  3. Clowns and Jugglers
  4. No Good Trying
  5. Love You
  6. Love You
  7. Clowns and Jugglers
  8. She Took a Long Cold Look
  9. Baby Lemonade
  10. Gigolo Aunt
  11. Waving My Arms in the Air
  12. I Never Lied to You
  13. Effervescing Elephant
  14. Love song
  15. Dominoes
  16. Dominoes
  17. It Is Obvious
  18. It Is Obvious
  19. It Is Obvious
Total Time for Disc Four - 56:00

Disc 5 - Miscellaneous Syd [ md5 ]

Peel Sessions
February 24, 1970 - Maida Vale 4 Studios - Maida Vale - London, England
BBC Top Gear Show recording date with David Gilmour, Jerry Shirley and Alan Styles
(Stereo Enhanced)

   1.  Love You
   2.  Gigolo Aunt
   3.  Baby Lemonade
   4.  Effervescing Elephant
   5.  Two of a Kind

Syd Solo Performance
June 6, 1970 - Olympia Exhibition Hall - London, England
Music and Fashion Festival with David Gilmour and Jerry Shirley
(Digitally remastered from 2nd generation source.)

   6.  Love You
   7.  Gigolo Aunt
   8.  Effervescing Elephant
   9.  Clowns and Jugglers

Sounds of the 70's - Dehissed, this source does NOT come from the "Magnesium Proverbs" recording.

 10.  Baby Lemonade
 11.  Dominoes
 12.  Love Song

Miscellaneous - Remastered from rare sources.

 13.  Rhamadam
 14.  Silas Lang Instrumental
 15.  Swan Lee Instrumental
 16.  '74, outtake 1
 17.  '74, outtake 2
 18.  '74, outtake 3
 19.  Bob Dylan Blues (This is actually a very cool tune, Syd was having a good day here.)
 20.  Syd Interview
 21.  Look of the Week Interview
 22.  CBC Interview
 23.  Tommorrow Interview
 24.  BBC Interview (Snowing)

Total Time for Disc Five - 70:32

Disc 6 - Live 1967, Copenhagen & Rotterdam [ md5 ]

Digitally Remastered from 2nd generation souce.

  1. Reaction in G
  2. Arnold Layne
  3. One in a Million
  4. Matilda Mother
  5. Scream Thy Last Scream
  6. Astronomy Domine
  7. Reaction in G
  8. Pow R Toc H
  9. Set the Controls for the Heart of the Sun
  10. Scream Thy Last Scream
  11. Interstellar Overdrive

Total Time for Disc Six - 78:52

Disc 7 - Live 1968, Amsterdam Early Show [ md5 ]

Digitally remastered from 1st generation source.

  1. Let There Be More Light
  2. Interstellar Overdrive
  3. Set the Controls for the Heart of the Sun
  4. A Saucerful of Secrets
  5. Astronomy Domine
  6. Roger Waters Interview
  7. Set the Controls for the Heart of the Sun

Total Time for Disc Seven - 65:34

Disc 8 - Live 1968, Amsterdam Late Show [ md5 ]

Digitally remastered from 1st generation source.

  1. Keep Smiling People
  2. Let There Be More Light
  3. Set the Controls for the Heart of the Sun
  4. Flaming
  5. A Saucerfull of Secrets
  6. Interstellar Overdrive
  7. Astronomy Domine
  8. Let There Be More Light
Total Time for Disc Eight - 64:06

Disc 9 - Various Live Performances from 1970 [ md5 ]

All tracks have been remastered from very good sources, better than what one usually finds.

  1. Alan's Psychedelic Breakfast
  2. Corrosion
  3. Main Theme from the film "More"
  4. The Violent Sequence
  5. Sysyphus
Total Time for Disc Nine - 74:44